Automobile Accident Regulations in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
Most of Indiana’s traffic legislation is included in Title IX of the Indiana Code. These regulations encompass everything, including the need for accident reports and car registration. Make sure that you contact a car accident attorney Fort Wayne. The following are some of the features:
Following an accident, Indiana law mandates that you must do three things to avoid being charged with hit-and-run:
- At the location of the collision, come to a complete stop,
- Give everyone involved in the collision your name, residence, registration plate, and license. If anyone was hurt, offer appropriate aid and call the police.
- If you damage property beyond a car or collide with an unattended vehicle, you must:
- If you can not find the owner after a reasonable search, call the local police and give them your information. Take reasonable steps to find and inform the operator or individual in charge of the automobile or property.
Indiana’s regulations for auto insurance:
In Indiana, insurance is fault-based, which means that the individual who causes an automobile accident is also responsible for covering any associated damages.
Due to Indiana’s fault-based system, all drivers must have the following minimum levels of liability insurance protection:
- $25,000 for one person’s death or physical injury
- $50,000 for any accident involving two or more fatalities or serious injuries.
- $25,000 for one accident’s property destruction or damage
Remember that liability insurance will cover bodily harm and property damage brought on by the insured and incurred by a third party.
Furthermore, although the liability mentioned above coverage is the very minimum needed, you are always free to buy extra.
Laws ag2ainst distracted driving:
Any non-driving activity that a driver does that might take their attention away from the main driving duty is referred to as “distracted driving.” Examples comprise:
- conversing with travelers
- Changing the radio
- observing videos
- All forms of distraction while driving provide a risk. However, not all distractions are illegal.
Indiana became the 22nd state in 2020 to enact legislation making it illegal for drivers to use a smartphone or other comparable device. People who break the law risk losing their driver’s license and receiving fines of up to $500.
Getting behind the wheel after drinking:
If you are driving when any of the following apply, you may be charged with being behind the wheel while drunk in Indiana:
You do have a blood alcohol level of at least.08%:
- You have any quantity of a schedule I or schedule II drug in your body.
- Alcohol or drug use harms your ideas and conduct.